Humility

In the Gospel of John we have the inner life of our Lord laid open to us. Jesus speaks frequently of His relation to the Father, of the motives by which He is guided, of His consciousness of the power and spirit in which He acts.
Listen to the words in which our Lord speaks of His relation to the Father, and how unceasingly He uses the words not, and nothing, of Himself. The “not I”, in which Paul expresses his relation to Christ, is the very spirit of what Christ says of His relation the Father.

  • “The Son can do nothing of Himself” (John 5: 19).
  • “I can of My own self do nothing; My judgement is just, because I seek not Mine own will” (John 5: 30).
  • “I receive not glory from men” (John 5: 41).
  • “I am come not to do Mine own will” (John 6:38).
  • “My teaching is not Mine” (John 7:16)
    “I am not come of Myself” (John 7:28).
  • “I do nothing of Myself” (John 8:28).
  • “I have not come of Myself, but He sent Me” (John 8: 42).
  • “I seek not Mine own glory” (John 8:50).
  • “The words that I say, I speak not from Myself” (John 14: 10).
  • “The word which ye hear is not Mine” (John 14: 24).

When one talks about the humility in The Life of Jesus one only has to look at when he did at the pinnacle of His ministry. He had fed the five thousand, healed the sick, raised the dead and at the passover feast he washes the disciples feet.
“I am in the midst of you as he that serveth.” Luke 22: 27

Let us consider our lives in Christ. If Christ as a man relied on his Heavenly Father for everything then let us rely on Him for everything.
When I consider our Lord, what would our motto be?

  • We can do nothing of ourselves.
  • We receive no glory from men.
  • We come not to do our will but He who sends us.
  • We seek not our own glory.
  • We speak not of ourselves but of Him who has redeemed us.

Can we be thankful that the Lord Christ Jesus and Heavenly father gave us the Holy Spirit to guide us, that we by dying daily to ourselves can become more reliant on Him. True humility come not seeking our own way but by being obedient to Him who called us.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment