Psalm 23 – Line by line – A different view

Psalm 23

The LORD is my shepherd = Christ is the good shepherd of my life.

I shall not want = Christ is all I need, He is my supply.

He makes me lie down in green pastures = Christ is my rest.

He leads me besides still waters = Christ is the water of life.

He restores my soul = Christ is my restorer and healer.

He guides me in the paths of righteousness = Christ leads me and I follow.

For his name’s sake = God does all these things for His purpose in my life.

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death I will fear no evil = Christ has conquered death therefore I will not fear evil.

For you are with me = Christ will never leave me or forsake me.

Your rod and staff they comfort me = God disciplines those he loves.

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies = Christ always provides.

You anoint my head with oil = Christ consecrates me.

My cup overflows = Christ gives me more than I can use and I can bless others.

Surely goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life = God has given me all spiritual blessing in Christ Jesus.

 

Jesus said: “You search the Scriptures because you think that in them you have eternal life; it is these that testify about Me”  John 5:39

There is so much more of Christ in this Psalm but this is just a taste.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

