God does not want our commitment

I know I will hear many people say but, but, but I am always told that we must commit ourselves to God, or to the church. I have also heard this many time. I do not see how God wants our commitment when He never asks for it. You see, I can’t seem to find the word “commitment” in the New Testament. Please go and check it out for yourself before you read further.

When I read the word “commit” in the Bible, it is normally talking about sin. Matt 19:18; Romans 2:22; James 2:11, to quote but a few.
The funny thing is that when Peter had broken Jesus’ trust, Jesus did not say to him you must commit yourself more to me. No, Jesus asked Peter a simple question. ” Do you love me?” Jesus was not interested in commitment but in getting Peter back into a place of relationship where Peter knew he loved Jesus.
In the book of Revelation when the church at Ephesus was chastised, the words are not ” You have lost your commitment”, but rather Rev 2:4 states ‘But I have this against you, that you have left your first love. Commitment was not the problem but loss of love was the problem.
Jesus does not say He who keeps has my commandments and keeps them is committed to me. No in John 14:21 Jesus said “He who has My commandments and keeps them is the one who loves Me; and he who loves Me will be loved by My Father, and I will love him and will disclose Myself to him.”
How many times was love mentioned in that verse?
God is looking for a people who will love Him because He first loved us. God is not looking for a people who are committed to his cause. He has no cause but He demonstrated His love for us in that Jesus laid down His life for the sins of many that those that Believe in Him will have everlasting live.
Our relationship with God is based on Love not on commitment. When we say a husband or a wife is faithful to their partner, do we mean that they are faithful because of fear or commitment, or rather they are faithful because they love their partner. It is the love for their partner that keeps them faithful, not their commitment to some ideal that keeps them. If love is the motivating factor then we do not need the seven steps, or the five points on commitment to get us through.
When we understand the Grace and the Love of God found in Christ Jesus and we start to see the richness of Christ then our love for Him increases and becomes the motivating factor that directs our actions.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

